CBAFF Young Achiever Award

Customs Brokers and Freight Forwarders Federation of NZ Inc., Air NZ Cargo, Independent Verification Services and WiseTech Global are proud to partner on the


CBAFF Young Achiever Award


Stand out from the crowd and showcase your talents to others within your company and industry!


This award celebrates young, motivated and innovative Freight Forwarders in New Zealand, and offers them the opportunity to gain valuable experience and further their freight forwarding career through advancement to the global competition.


Due to COVID-19 the 2020 Young Achiever Award has been postponed until 2021. All 2020 applications are being carried over for the 2021 year.





To be eligible for the award, the nominee must:

  • Currently work within the Freight Forwarding / Custom Broking industries
  • Must be 31 years old or younger in 2020
  • Currently be employed by a company which is a Business member of CBAFF
  • Be a Citizen or Permanent Resident of New Zealand
  • Submit an application form and describe export/import processes


The Prize


The winner receives:

  • An all-expenses paid trip to Los Angeles for the purpose of undertaking a tailored, behind-the-scenes tour of the Air NZ cargo facility
  • $750 spending money to cover any out-of-pocket expenses
  • IVS training courses to the value of $4,000 for the recipient (to be taken before 30 June of the following year)
  • Complimentary attendance at the Annual CBAFF Conference in the year following the Award. The winner will be asked to present a summary of their report and findings from the trip.
  • Automatic nomination for the FIATA Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award.
  • 'Young Achiever Award’ Plaque
  • Recognition for the winners employer


Finalists receive:

  • Complementary attendance at the Annual CBAFF Conference Dinner for the announcement of the winner and award presentation
  • Return flights to the Annual CBAFF Conference destination
  • One night’s accommodation at the Annual CBAFF Conference venue


The Judges


A judging panel will comprise of a representative from:

  • Customs Brokers and Freight Forwarders Federation of NZ Inc.
  • Air NZ Cargo
  • NZ Maritime School – Manukau Institute of Technology
  • Independent Verification Services
  • WiseTech Global

The judging panel will consider the report and conduct an interview of each applicant. All applicants will be required to attend the interview at their own expense.

Past Winners


2019 - Natarlia Harold, Jacana Customs & Freight

2018 - Award not run

2017 - Phil Burgess, Bernard International

2016 - Kayla McKelvie, Oceanbridge Shipping

2015 - Bridget Tapper, Geodis Wilson

2014 - Renee Conroy, CEVA Logistics (NZ) Limited

2013 - Olivia Kinnane, Oceanbridge Shipping

2012 - Award not run

2011 - No Winner

2010 - Matthew Archer, Oceanbridge Shipping

2009 - Lisa Jensen, UTi New Zealand Limited

2008 - Michael Wilson, Agility Logistics Limited

2007 - Olivia Kinnane, Oceanbridge Shipping

2006 - Nick Philp, Cunningham Gill Limited

2005 - Matthew Naylor, Schenker (NZ) Ltd

2004 - Hadley Page, UTi New Zealand Limited

2003 - No Winner

2002 - Simone Jarman, Pacific Gate Logistics Limited

2001 - Wade Brown

Proudly supported by