Young Logistics Professional Award

Customs Brokers and Freight Forwarders Federation of NZ Inc., Air NZ Cargo, Independent Verification Services and WiseTech Academy are proud to partner on the


CBAFF Young Logistics Professional Award 


Stand out from the crowd and showcase your talents to others within your company and industry!


This award celebrates young, motivated and innovative Freight Forwarders in New Zealand, and offers them the opportunity to gain valuable experience and further their freight forwarding career through advancement to the global competition.


Entries for 2023 are now closed

Proudly supported by




To be eligible for the award, the nominee must:

  • Currently work within the Freight Forwarding / Custom Broking industries
  • Not have attained their 32nd birthday in 2024.
  • Currently be employed by a company which is a Business member of CBAFF
  • Be a Citizen or Permanent Resident of New Zealand
  • Submit an application form and describe export/import processes


The Prize


The winner receives:

  • 1 x return air tickets with Air New Zealand to any New Zealand destination, or to Sydney, Melbourne or Brisbane in Australia (being dependent on an open border) - to be taken by 30 June 2024
  • 1 x return ticket to the CBAFF conference 2023
  • Tour of the Air New Zealand cargo operation 
  • 2 nights’ accommodation of choice (up to a value of $400)
  • Small rental car for the duration of their stay
  • $400 of spending money
  • $4,000 worth of IVS training - to be completed by 30 June 2024
  • Complimentary CBAFF conference attendance in 2023
  • Nomination for the FIATA Young Logistics Professional competition in 2024
  • Award trophy


Finalists receive:

  • Complementary attendance at the Annual CBAFF Conference Dinner for the announcement of the winner and award presentation
  • Return flights to the Annual CBAFF Conference destination
  • One night’s accommodation at the Annual CBAFF Conference venue
  • Wisetech academy complimentary Diploma in International Freight Forwarding course

The Judges


A judging panel will comprise of a representative from:

  • Customs Brokers and Freight Forwarders Federation of NZ Inc.
  • Air NZ Cargo
  • IVS Group
  • WiseTech Academy

The judging panel will consider the report and conduct an interview of each applicant. All applicants will be required to attend the interview at their own expense.

Past Winners

2022 - Riska Ariestadewi

2021 - Jessica Dunye, Oceanbridge

2020 - Award not run

2019 - Natarlia Harold, Jacana Customs & Freight

2018 - Award not run

2017 - Phil Burgess, Bernard International

2016 - Kayla McKelvie, Oceanbridge Shipping

2015 - Bridget Tapper, Geodis Wilson

2014 - Renee Conroy, CEVA Logistics (NZ) Limited

2013 - Olivia Kinnane, Oceanbridge Shipping

2012 - Award not run

2011 - No Winner

2010 - Matthew Archer, Oceanbridge Shipping

2009 - Lisa Jensen, UTi New Zealand Limited

2008 - Michael Wilson, Agility Logistics Limited

2007 - Olivia Kinnane, Oceanbridge Shipping

2006 - Nick Philp, Cunningham Gill Limited

2005 - Matthew Naylor, Schenker (NZ) Ltd

2004 - Hadley Page, UTi New Zealand Limited

2003 - No Winner

2002 - Simone Jarman, Pacific Gate Logistics Limited

2001 - Wade Brown